Genetic Cocktail: Shaken, not Stirred

With all the genetic combinations possible in the world, it really is amazing how we turn out to be so much like our parents.  We grow up saying, we are going to be better, be different than our parents.  Not that they were bad parents, but that we’d be able to be better versions of them.  We are the “offspring,” bounding and leaping from the base we were given to soar to greater heights.  And our parents want this for us as well, telling us to learn from their mistakes and life experience to better our own.  It’s funny how with all these goals, the apple never falls far from the tree.

The past week I’ve had a terrible time sleeping.  Last night I finally rested the most I have and it was achieved the same way my father finds rest; sleeping in the recliner with my mouth wide open.  I’ve seen him do it for years, laughed and poked fun at the spectacle, only to enjoy it myself these past few days.

I’ve also taken my father’s sense of humor and adapted his dry sarcasm to my everyday speech.  And don’t forget the gems my mother has passed along to me.  While working, I launched into a spectacle of sound effects instead of using sentences to communicate my message.  “Ah ah ah ah!” I said to someone preparing a drink incorrectly.  All I needed to say was, “stop, they don’t want whipped cream.”  Instead I chose to express myself with gestures and sounds not commonly understood.  Now if I were in a room with my grandmother and aunts, everyone would have stopped what they were doing and turned to the source of the sound for further instruction.

All these realizations made me think that if my parents gave these traits to me, then it must have been passed down over thousands of years from my grandparents parents, and their parents, and so on.  Over this time I’d assume that dilution would occur.  Maybe my great-great-great-great grandmother was a sharp tongued woman with acidic saliva.  Or my great-great-great-great maternal grandfather was the town kook, armed with a facial expression and sound effect for every word in the oxford dictionary.  But there are still variables in the fact that we pair off with other crazy, kooky families and create new cocktails of insanity.  And no matter what you do to alter what you’ve been given, the original blueprint of your genetic code will always be there.  This shouldn’t be a threat, but rather a reminder to appreciate what you have and what you’ve been given over generations of time.  Your personality has been perfected and conditioned for many moons.

So when you are freaked out that the comment you made sounded a lot like your mother, or the look you just gave your sibling reminded them of your dad, just know that everything in the world is just right.  Your genetic cocktail is one of a kind and served best as is, without the fancy garnish.

Published in: on January 27, 2011 at 11:48 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://blauisms.wordpress.com/2011/01/27/genetic-cocktail-shaken-not-stirred/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

